Shakespeare in San Valentine’s Day


Every time I hear about Saint Valentine’s day,
my thoughts are not about lovers and chocolates BUT about Ofelia’s drowning

Let me explain: while in seconday school I played the Ofelia character, and of all her lines
I remember the part when, already crazy, she sings a song about St Valentine:

«Tomorrow is Saint Valentine’s day,
All in the morning betime,

 And I a maid at your window,
To be your Valentine.
Then up he rose and donn’d his clo’es
And dupp’d the chamber door,
Let in the maid, that out a maid

Never departed more.»

I think –passing through the door- should be the metaphor of defloration

valentinoLet’s analyze Ophelia’s story:

Ophelia loves Hamlet
Hamlet loves Ophelia
Hamlet undergoes a hard time because of his mother
Ophelia undergoes a hard time because of Hamlet
Hamlet breaks up with Ofhelia and kills her father
Ophelia inexplicably goes crazy and commits suicide
Hamlet in the end is desperate and ready to duel for her

Is this a kind of metaphor about a normal relationship?
At the beginning everything is perfect, then He has a hard time and she goes insane.
ofelia

The end of Ophelia’s song:

« Quoth she, ‘Before you tumbled me, You promised me to wed.’
He answers: ‘So would I ha’ done, by yonder sun, An thou hadst not come to my bed.
»

About silvi

nothing to say and drawing it anyway
Image | This entry was posted in cult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

